David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award 

Imig awardAbout the Award 

The Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate’s David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award is presented in recognition of an individual who has demonstrated important contributions to the Vision and Mission of CPED and/or the reclaiming of the EdD as the highest quality professional practice doctorate in education.  

Eligibility and Selection 

The recipient of this award will be a faculty member, administrator, student or graduate of a CPED member university. The recipient will have contributed significantly to improving the professional doctorate in education (EdD) either at their home institution or within the CPED Consortium.  

The Imig Award is presented at the annual Convening of CPED. Individuals may not nominate themselves. Any CPED member – student, administrator, faculty or graduates—may be nominated by a fellow colleague. 

The selection criteria include evidence of distinguished contributions that advance the CPED Mission and Vision and/or the reclaiming of the EdD through: 

  • Leadership within CPED or a CPED-influenced program redesign. 

  • Teaching and advising in a CPED-influenced EdD program.  

  • Scholarship related to CPED or a CPED-influenced EdD program.  

  • Demonstration of Scholarly-Practice by CPED-influenced program student or graduate.

  • Nominator and awardee must both attend 2020 virtual CPED convening.

Submission Requirements 

All submissions must be made through the CPED online submission page. Applications for this award must include: 

  • A one page letter stating the basis for the nomination. 
  • Curriculum Vitae or resume of the nominee. 
  • One or more supporting materials that demonstrate how the nominee meets the criteria listed above. Material may include letters of support from other colleagues familiar with the nominee’s work, sample publications, course work, syllabi or unique activity/assignment, professional practice demonstration, CPED committee work and additional information on the nominee’s accomplishments.

Submission Procedure

Nominations will be submitted electronically. An award committee shall review nominations and a winner will be selected based upon the award criteria. This committee will reserve the right to present this award to multiple candidates on any given year, or conversely, not to present this award should nominees not fully meet the selection criteria.

Nominations are due August 15, 2020

Submit Nominations Electronically Here

Award Recipients

2019 - Dr. Edmund "Ted" Hamann

Dr. Edmund "Ted: Hamann being presented the Imig Award

2018 - Dr. Debby Zambo

CPED Executive Director Jill Perry presenting the Imig Award to Debby Zambo

2017 - Dr. David G. Imig

Dr. David Imig being presented with the inaugural David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award